Sustainable Shipping Campaign Overview:

 

  • Transportation of artworks, goods and materials via air freight is a major contributor of greenhouse gas emissions in the art sector. In addition to this, large volumes of single use plastics are consumed and disposed of from packaging artworks. The combination of CO2e emissions and excessive waste means that international freight is the most high impact activity a typical arts organisation will engage in.

  • GCC’s Sustainable Shipping Campaign aims to accelerate the art sector’s transition to environmentally responsible freight operations. It will achieve this by:

a) Raising awareness about the sector’s environmental impacts relating to global freight, particularly its dependency on air freight and consumption of single-use plastic packaging.

b) Providing guidance on best practice and target setting.

c) Encouraging galleries, institutions, collectors and artists to request low impact freight services whilst encouraging shippers and suppliers to provide and promote necessary services.

  • This is an international, cross-sector campaign calling on all stakeholders and operators in the supply chain to take responsibility and make effective changes. Alignment and cooperation is essential for progress.

  • There are four Sector-wide Campaign Targets, as well as specific Campaign Actions for Galleries, Institutions, Art Fairs, Artists, Auction Houses, Collectors, Art Insurers and Shippers.

  • GCC will be collaborating with leading arts organisations and key industry suppliers to set standards, help deliver new products and services, as well as producing case studies demonstrating best practice in action.

  • GCC will develop new resources and materials to accompany the campaign and assist the transition.

  • GCC has worked with representatives of Lloyds Market Association Joint Specie Committee to provide approved guidelines on best practice for sea shipments.

 

Download PDF

 

Download Press Release 

 

 


 

Campaign Launch Event

 

To formally launch the campaign, GCC will be hosting an online event on May 26th at 9am PT/12pm ET/5pm BST/6pm CET. The open event will provide further details and outline the aims and actions of the campaign and will allow time for questions to be answered by the wider community. 

 

To attend, please register via this link. Further event details will be announced in due course.

 

 


 

 

The Sustainable Shipping Campaign has been developed collaboratively with:
GCC Volunteer Registrars Group
GCC Volunteer Shipping Committee

GCC Shipping Industry Working Group
Adam Prideaux, Hallets Independent
Chris Bentley, AXA XL
Lloyds Market Association Joint Specie Committee
Danny Chivers, environmental advisor

Kim Kraczon, sustainable packaging expert
& the GCC team


With special thanks to GCC volunteers:
Hannah Wright, Thomas Dane Gallery
Nicholas Stavri, Cristea Roberts Gallery
Ed Howat, Lisson Gallery